Township of Shrewsbury Resolution #2019-14

<u>Authorizing the Appointment of a Certifying Officer for the Public Employees Retirement System</u> for the Year 2019

WHEREAS, the Department of Treasury, Division of Pensions & Benefits, requires that there be a designation of a certifying officer and supervisor of the certifying officer for the Township; and

WHEREAS, "Certifying Officer" is defined in the New Jersey pension law to mean an officer or employee of the State or of an employer other than the State who is responsible for submitting information to and performing the duties relating to matters concerning the retirement system with respect to each of the employees of the employing location, as required by law, the board of trustees or commission, and the Division of Pensions and Benefits, and

WHEREAS, "Supervisor of the Certifying Officer" is defined in the New Jersey pension law to mean the immediate supervisor of the certifying officer,

WHEREAS, the Township of Shrewsbury would like to name <u>Thomas X. Seaman</u>, as the certifying officer, and <u>Thomas X. Seaman/CMFO</u>, as the supervisor of the certifying officer for the year 2019.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Mayor and Township Committee of the Township of Shrewsbury, County of Monmouth, and State of New Jersey, as follows:

- 1. <u>Thomas X. Seaman</u> is hereby designated as the supervisor of the certifying officer for the Public Employees Retirement System on behalf of the Township of Shrewsbury for 2019.
- 2. <u>Thomas X. Seaman</u> is hereby designated as the certifying officer for the Public Employees Retirement System on behalf of the Township of Shrewsbury for 2019.
- 3. That upon the adoption of the within resolution, the Clerk is authorized and directed to forward a certified copy of it to the Department of Treasury, Division of Pensions & Benefits and Thomas X. Seaman.

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Jennings		X	X			
Puhak	X		X			
Nolan			X			

I hereby certify the above to be a true copy of the resolution adopted by the Township Committee at Meeting held on January 1, 2019.							
Teri Giercyk, RMC	Edward P. Nolan						

Mayor

Municipal Clerk