## TOWNSHIP OF SHREWSBURY

## Resolution #2020-31

## APPOINT TAX COLLECTOR FOR THE TOWNSHIP OF SHREWSBURY

**WHEREAS**, the Shrewsbury Township Tax Collector, Kelly Montecinos resigned from her position in late December, 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Township Committee advertised for the filling of the aforesaid position and the Personnel Committee consisting of Mayor Edward Nolan, Chief Financial Officer, Thomas Seaman and Attorney, Gene J. Anthony interviewed candidates that submitted their applications for the position on January 11, 2020 including candidates: Ashlesha Deshpande, Leigh Schenck and Theresa Davis; and

**WHEREAS**, the duties of Tax Collector must be performed by some individual on a daily and weekly basis; and by a person who is properly licensed under State Statute; and

**WHEREAS**, the Chief Financial Officer has certified that there is sufficient funds available to pay the Tax Collector in performing her duties to the extent of Three Thousand Six Hundred and Fifty Dollars (\$3,650) per year, with an increase to Four Thousand Dollars upon municipal amendment to the salary ordinance. A true copy of said certification is available in the Clerk's Office.

**NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Township Committee of the Township of Shrewsbury, County of Monmouth and State of New Jersey, has accepted the recommendation of the Personnel Committee and hereby authorizes the appointment of Theresa Davis as the official Tax Collector for a term of four (4) years commencing January 14, 2020 at a salary of \$3,650 per year, with an increase to Four Thousand Dollars upon municipal amendment to the salary ordinance, to be paid on a monthly basis.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that a true copy of this Resolution be sent to the Division of Local Government Services, Department of Community Affairs, and State of New Jersey.

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Jennings						
Puhak						
Nolan						

I hereby certify the above to be a true copy of the resolution adopted by the Township Committee at the Regular Meeting held on January 14, 2020.

Pamela D. Howard, RMC, CMR	Edward P. Nolan
Municipal Clerk	Mavor