

Shrewsbury Township 1979 Crawford Street Shrewsbury Township, New Jersey 07724

Katrina L. Thornton, RMC Acting Municipal Clerk

Phone (732) 542-0572 Fax (732) 935-1348

Shrewsbury Township Committee

January 1, 2024

Reorganization Meeting - 2:30 PM

MINUTES

CALL MEETING TO ORDER The 2024 Township Committee Re-Organization Meeting is called to order.

NOTICE REQUIREMENTS

In accordance with the requirements of Section 4(a) of C.231, P.L. 1975, the required Annual Notice of this meeting was published in the Two River Times on January 9, 2023, in addition to posting on the bulletin board in the Municipal Building and filing a copy of said notice with the Municipal Clerk. www.townshipofshrewsbury.com.

FLAG SALUTE

OATHE OF OFFICE - ELECTED TOWNSHIP COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Re-Elected Township Committeewoman Lester Jennings will be sworn into office. Remarks by Mr. Jennings.

MEMBERS QUALIFIED TO SERVE

Glenwood Puhak Lester Jennings Lynda Lettice

Ms. Thornton announced that Mr. Jennings was re-elected as a Committeeman.

Mr. Jennings was sworn in as Committeeman by Ms. Thornton.

Ms. Thornton announced that Glen Puhak, Lynda Lettice, and Lester Jennings were all official members of the Township Committee.

MAYOR

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

Mr. Jennings was sworn in as Mayor for 2024 by Ms. Thornton

DEPUTY MAYOR

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice		Х	Х			
Jennings	Х		Х			
Puhak			Х			

Mrs. Lettice was sworn in as Deputy Mayor for 2024 by Ms. Thornton.

TOWNSHIP ATTORNEY

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice		Х	Х			
Jennings			Х			
Puhak	Х		Х			

Mr. Anthony was sworn in as Township Attorney for 2024 by Ms. Thornton and assisted by his wife Judy Anthony.

AUDITOR

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice		Х	Х			
Jennings	Х		Х			
Puhak			Х			

TOWNSHIP ENGINEER

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice			Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak	Х		Х			

TOWNSHIP BOND COUNSEL

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

APPOINTMENT OF TAX COLLECTOR

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

ACTING MUNICIPAL/ CLERK AND REGISTRAR

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings			Х			
Puhak		Х	Х			

MEETING SCHEDULE

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

NEWSPAPER

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice			Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak	Х		Х			

CASH MANAGEMENT PLAN

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

OFFICIAL DEPOSITORIES

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

Cancel Balances

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

Fix Rate of Interest

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

Service Charge Returned Checks

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

Grace Period Late Fees for Dog Licenses

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice		Х	Х			
Jennings	Х		Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-17 Lease Agreement Emergency Management

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-18 Alternatives to in person meetings

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice			Х			
Jennings	Х		Х			
Puhak		Х	Х			

24-19 Community Development Block Grant – LESTER JENNINGS

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings			Х			
Puhak		Х	Х			

24-20 JIF REPRESENTATIVE Katie

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-21 Public Agency Compliance Officer – Katrina Thornton

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-22 Certifying Officer KATRINA/KATIE

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-23 C1 C2 Operator

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-24 Tax Search Officer Jason Sutton

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-25 Members of Rent Board

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-26 Assessment Search

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-27 Recreation Director

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-28

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-29 Temporary Budget

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-30 Chief Financial Officer

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

24-31 QPA

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Lettice	Х		Х			
Jennings		Х	Х			
Puhak			Х			

Comments From Township Committee

None

Mrs. Lettice offered a motion, moved, and seconded by Mr. Jennings, to open the meeting to the public.

Public Comments

Thomas Yocklo was present on behalf of Brookdale Community College, Office of the President. He wished everyone good luck on their appointments and stated he looked forward to seeing the rest of their term go out.

COULD NOT HEAR WHO SPOKE

Robin Kane wished everyone a Happy New Year.

Mrs. Lettice offered a motion, moved, and seconded by Mr. Puhak, to close the public portion of the meeting.

Mayor Jennings stated the next meeting would be on Tuesday, January 9, 2024 at 6pm at Shrewsbury Hall and refreshments will be served in the next room.

Mr. Jennings offered a motion, moved and seconded by Mr. Puhak to adjourn the meeting.