

Pamela Howard, RMC Municipal Clerk Phone (732) 542-0572 Fax (732) 935-1348

## Shrewsbury Township Committee

# May 5, 2020

# **SPECIAL TOWNSHIP COMMITTEE MEETING – 4:00 PM**

# **MINUTES**

CALL MEETING TO ORDER by Deputy Mayor Glenwood Puhak at 4:00 P.M.

In accordance with the requirements of Section 4(a) of C.231, P.L. 1975, the required notice of this meeting was published in the Asbury Park Press on May 3, 2020 to posting on the bulletin board in the Municipal Building and filing a copy of said notice with the Municipal Clerk.

## **ROLL CALL:**

**GOVERNING BODY MEMBERS PRESENT**: Deputy Mayor Glenwood, Committeeman Lester Jennings, Mayor Edward Nolan by phone.

**TOWNSHIP OFFICIALS PRESENT**: Township Attorney Gene Anthony and Municipal Clerk Pamela D. Howard.

#### MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC WERE IN ATTENDANCE

SALUTE TO THE FLAG

**RESOLUTIONS:** 

TOWNSHIP OF SHREWSBURY

#### RESOLUTION #2020-67

#### RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING EXTENSION OF GRACE PERIOD FOR PAYMENT OF REAL PROPERTY TAXES DUE MAY 1, 2020 FROM MAY 11, 2020 TO JUNE 1, 2020 PURSUANT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER 130

**WHEREAS**, N.J.S.A. 54:4-67 establishes the grace period during which municipalities may not collect interest for unpaid real property taxes to be 10 days; and

**WHEREAS**, for municipalities, such as the Township of Shrewsbury, operating under a calendar year budget, second quarter property taxes are due on May 1, 2020, but may be paid, without interest being assessed, at the end of the 10 day grace period expiring on May 11, 2020; and

WHEREAS, on April 28, 2020, due to the COVID-19 state of emergency, Governor Philip D. Murphy signed

-1-

Executive Order No. 130, which authorizes municipalities, by resolution, to extend the grace period for payment of real property taxes to June 1, 2020; and

**WHEREAS,** in recognition of the current financial hardships experienced by many residents of the Township of Shrewsbury, the Governing Body has determined it appropriate to offer the maximum extension permitted under Executive Order No. 130 for the grace period for payment of real property taxes.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Governing Body of the Township of Shrewsbury, in the County of Monmouth, State of New Jersey that it hereby authorizes and directs the Township's Chief Financial Officer and Tax Collector to immediately extend the Township's grace period for the payment of second quarter real property taxes due on May 1, 2020 from May 11, 2020 to June 1, 2020 during which time no interest shall be charged for late payments.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** if the May 1, 2020 installment of second quarter real property taxes is not paid on or before June 1, 2020, then the interest rates set forth in Resolution 2020-19 shall apply retroactively to the May 1, 2020 due date.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that no refunds of real property taxes already paid for the second quarter shall be granted during the extended grace period.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that all other deadlines and interest rates penalties set forth in Resolution 2020-19 shall remain in full force and effect, but for the grace period for the May 1, 2020 installment, which is amended to the extent set forth in this Resolution only.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that pursuant to Executive Order No. 130, the Clerk of the Township of Shrewsbury is hereby directed to immediately transmit a certified copy of this Resolution to the Director of the New Jersey Division of Local Government Services in the Department of Community Affairs.

Name	Motion	Second	Ayes	Nays	Abstain	Absent
Jennings	x		x			
Puhak		x	x			
Nolan			Х			

# OLD BUSINESS: NONE PUBLIC PORTION:

- Do I hear a motion to open the meeting to the public? Moved by Mr. Jennings seconded by Deputy Mayor Puhak

Ayes – Deputy Mayor Puhak, Mr. Jennings and Mayor Nolan.

No comments

Do I hear a motion to close the meeting to the public? Moved by Deputy Mayor Puhak seconded by Mr. Jennings
Ayes – Deputy Mayor Puhak, Mr. Jennings and Mayor Nolan.

DATE OF NEXT MEETING: Regular Meeting May 12, 2020 at 4pm.

## ADJOURNMENT

Do I hear a motion to adjourn the meeting? Moved by Deputy Mayor Puhak, seconded by Mr. Jennings.
Ayes – Deputy Mayor Puhak, Mr. Jennings and Mayor Nolan.

May 12, 2020 Respectfully submitted,

Pamela Howard, RMC,CMR Municipal Clerk